The Travalanche Hall of Presidents

Happy Presidents Day! Young people may not know this, but ostensibly this is not a day for ALL the Presidents, just Washington and Lincoln. We used to celebrate them each as separate holidays but they got smooshed together in order to accommodate the addition of Martin Luther King Day to the calendar in 1986. It’s an awkward pairing — you’d think a better match would be Lincoln and King, for many different reasons, but I guess that would create all kinds of special new problems of its own. Oh, and between George and Abe on that vintage image above? Is the Goddess Columbia. I wrote something about her here.

Anyway this seemed like the appropriate day to created a little finding aid for my various posts about U.S. Presidents. As this is primarily a popular culture blog it seemed to me it would be confusing to create a new content category in the drop box thingy on the right. Instead, this post will serve that function. I hope you find it useful.

Washington

Adams

Jefferson

Lincoln

Grant

Teddy Roosevelt

Wilson

Coolidge

JFK

LBJ

Nixon

Reagan

Watch this space! I’ve also plans to do ones on Jackson, FDR, Truman, Ike, and Carter. This being a show biz blog, I’ll also likely do ones on Obama (since he’s now a movie and TV producer) and the orange-faced goon who succeeded him, since he was technically a TV personality for a time (you can expect that one to be drenched with copious amounts of bile). Believe it or not, there’s even a 1942 bio-pic of Andrew Johnson, and I’ll probably get to that one at some point. As for the others…well, you never know what’ll turn up.

Okay, gotta run. Like I said, it’s Presidents’ Day! Gotta go do some consumer spending!