50 Years Ago: My First Amusement Park

A gent named Mark Thompson took the color pix I share below; I borrowed them from his spread on the RI Memories website, which I feel okay doing since I also link you to the full page here.

His pictures were taken at Rocky Point Park in 1974, the same year I first visited that popular New England resort — almost (ulp!) 50 years ago. I share them because I had occasion to think about and mention the park in my most recent post, and this benchmark anniversary is coming up. And I have no idea what day it makes sense for me to post it on. The park closed in 1995, but I’ve been unable to learn what the very day was. It first became a resort in the 1840s, but much like Coney Island it evolved, it’s impossible to say when it started. And I have no idea what day I first attended in 1974. So today’s as good a time as any.

Rocky Point Amusement Park was located in Warwick, Rhode Island, at the top of Narragansett Bay, a short hop south from Providence. Since I and my friends came from the southern part of the state (directly on the ocean) there were certain attractions of the park, like the Olympic sized saltwater swimming pool, and the Shore Dinner Hall (which served meals of seafood), which were less impressive and exotic to us. Although in retrospect, it’s nice to remember the Dinner Hall, if only for a reference point in imagining the many such establishments there used to be in Coney Island. You know, huge halls, where hundreds of people sat at picnic tables eating lobster and drinking schooners of beer. Although, the Shore erred, I feel, in serving Manhattan Clam Chowder, which any New Englander will tell you is a bogus, counterfeit soup-thing experience.

My favorite rides included the Flume (still one of my favorite rides), the Skyliner (basically a ski lift that afforded a view of the park and adjacent bay), and the House of Horrors (of course). I also loved the Music Express, a ride that whipped you around really fast while they blasted Top 40 Rock out of speakers. The park also put on rock concerts featuring many famous bands, usually harder rocking ones. It’s also, I believe, where the Three Stooges made some of their last public appearances. There are Stooges and then there are Stooges! I was also a big sucker for games of chance and overpriced souvenirs, a principal reason why nowadays… I am not!

A few selections from Mr. Thompson’s spread:

The Music Express. Dig the cool rock design!
“(in terror) No! Not VIKINGS!”
Top of flume perspective.

Right now my Coney Island friends are going, “Cute! It thinks it’s an amusement park!”

Rocky Point Park closed its doors in 1995, apparently because it had overextended by investing in other businesses that went belly up. The Shore Dinner Hall lasted until 2014. The site of the park is now just an ordinary state park (without amusement park attractions, rides, games etc). I’m sure it’s nice and I’d love to check it out sometime.

I leave you now with what I deem to be a rare treat. This was taken circa 1976. I know because my baseball cap is turned around backwards in emulation of The Bad News Bears and/or Oscar Madison. I’m on the right side, of course. My adorable sister in the middle. And on the left, some kid we met that day, spent the entire day with, probably figured we’d be lifelong friends with — and never saw again. I don’t even remember his name. But we’ll always have our time together — in Cell Block One!