Eat, Drink and Be Wary

My friend Kathy Biehl is a highly eclectic Renaissance woman: I first met her when she was cast in the Margaret Dumont role in I’ll Say She Is, and was a fellow member of the planning committee of Marxfest, and later learned that she is also a laywer, a spiritual adviser of sterling repute, and a writer, among other things. As to the latter, I didn’t realize how good she was ’til she sent me her book of food-related essays called Eat, Drink and Be Wary. Straightaway, I penned this:

“Three cheers (salt, butter and sugar) for Kathy Biel’s wittily, wonderfully worded collection of mouth watering essays. Reading Eat, Drink and Be Wary was like going on a tasting tour — with a menu that encompasses not just food but the deeply felt culture that surrounds it. Culinary primitives like me will also be glad to know that the smorgasbord frequently skirts the exclusive grottoes of gourmetism and makes a beeline towards delicious, delicious junk. Devour this book!” 

I might also throw in that it’s full of Texas flavor and reads like BBQ sauce. How to buy it is here.