Stars of Vaudeville #349: Hermine’s Midgets

This troupe of little people dates from the post-vaudeville period. They crossed the puddle from their homebase in Vienna for the 1939 World’s Fair and just stayed, touring the U.S. throughout the 1940s. When live gigs dried up, their main bread and butter became tv. You can see members of the troupe in vehicles as diverse as Danny Kaye’s The Court Jester (1945), Robert Downey’s Putney Swope (1969), and the psychedelic 1970s children’s show Lidsville.

To learn more about vaudeville, consult No Applause, Just Throw Money: The Book That Made Vaudeville Famous, available at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and wherever nutty books are sold.


4 Responses to “Stars of Vaudeville #349: Hermine’s Midgets”

  1. Lisa Rebernigg Zigmont Daughter of Bob Hermines Midgets Says:

    Robert Rebernigg was my father I lived the story of Hermines Midgets if you have questions about this I am all thats left that know the whole story.

    • Yes, please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’ll email you separately to chat! Thanks for reaching out – -will be in touch soon

    • e j e boumans Says:

      Hi Lisa,
      I have been researching so-called midget troupes for some time now and I am at present working on a project related to little folks in entertainment in the 1930s. Would be happy to share info with you.

    • hermann schoenfeld Says:

      Hello Lisa…….My name is Hermann Schonfeld and if you remember, I used to live in your parents house. I used to be very good friends of the midgets and was wondering who was still alive and how to get in touch with them.

      When I was searching on the internet for some information, I came across your name. How are you and are you still married to Billy?

      I live in Frankfurt and have lived in Germany since 1975 when I moved back from the states. I’d love to speak with you. Below is my email adress. Can you email be back and give me your telephone nr. and I can call you.

      Hope to speak to you soon……


Leave a Reply

