A Plug for Music Hall and Variety Day (and the Herring Barrel Revue)

We’ve marked Music Hall and Variety Day here in the past because we think it is a marvelous idea. Today, I hope you will forgive me if I hijack the occasion for my own nefarious variety purposes. I have just come from rehearsing for Marxfest’s Herring Barrel Revue, and want to give it a big plug!

It’s a stand-alone Marx Brothers themed variety show open to Marxfest attendees and the general public event alike, full of music, comedy and surprises featuring meself, Noah Diamond, Jonny Porkpie, Seth Shelden, Glen Heroy, Kathy Biehl (all from our 2014 production of I’ll Say She Is), the amazing musical wizard Josh Max, “the world’s only Yiddish draq queen” Mitzi Manna, the piano stylings of Tracy Stark, and more. It’s all happening this Saturday, May 18, 9:30pm at the Laurie Beechman Theatre of the West Bank Cafe, 407 West 42nd Street, right off Times Square!

The foolery will be falling fast and furious that night, I assure you, as this particular bunch will be looking to celebrate the Marxes in a big way, for we are at the one century mark from the premiere of I’ll Say She Is, the Marx Brothers’ first Broadway show. Come stow away with us!

Tickets are available here.