Auditions Begin Today for a New Variety Show in Astoria

With late April and all of May clogged with events, your correspondent has been hard at work trying to get some events on the calendar for June. A couple of new book talks are in the works, but meantime, something else just fell into my lap, and I thought I’d announce it today for the benefit of readers who are variety performers. Auditions begin at 5pm today at the Hellenic Cultural Center in Astoria Queens, for a new variety series launching in that space on June 8! I’m to be one of the judges on that big show, and am very excited at the prospect. I’ve been watching Kong Show producers Powell and Ella for some time, and was grateful for their participation in my “Variety Store” at QED this past summer. I’m kind of in love with Queens at the moment, so this is a perfect way for stay involved in the borough…that is, after this Sunday’s presentation at the Queens Theatre, Flushing!

Meantime, if you’ve got an act, call ’em at the numbers above and get your slot in the auditions! (BTW, I love that it’s all happening at the Hellenic Cultural Center. Astoria has always been NYC’s primary Greek enclave…and, as it happens, I began the story of vaudeville in my book No Applause…with Ancient Greece. The book is one of the prizes to lucky contestants in this variety night!)