(Not My) President Day in NYC

There’s only one way to spend Presidents Day in the age of Drumpf — that’s by rejecting the present office holder utterly and vociferously, and refusing to include him in any honors extended to his august precedessors.  Accordingly, tens of thousands of protesters gathered on Central Park West and Columbus Circle to make their point outside Trump Tower. Your correspondent was among them.

img_2442

I wore the swell shirt you see above, created by my old friend Matt Cohen. Now I know for certain that I am one of the 65,844,954 who voted for HRC. I am less certain that I one of the actual ones represented in the difference between her total number of popular votes and Trump’s puny, pathetic lesser total. Still, this handsome article was the appropriate shirt for today’s outing, and if you want one of your own you can get it here.

img_2375

img_2376

img_2377

img_2378

img_2379

Minutes after arriving I looked back and all these people had filled in behind me.

img_2380

img_2381

img_2382

I do not endorse siccing a dog on Donald Trump. However I would be delighted to watch one tear apart his effigy.

img_2383

img_2384

img_2385

img_2388

img_2389

These are the folks ahead of me in the march. We entered Central Park West at 68th Street, and worked our way south toward Trump Tower

img_2390

img_2391

img_2392

img_2393

img_2394

img_2395

img_2396

img_2399

img_2400

img_2401

img_2403

Trump Tower within sight

img_2420

At this stage I left the enclosure, thinking I’d never make it all the way up to the main demonstration, which was a block south at the Columbus Circle corner of Central Park, across the street from Trump Tower.

img_2425

img_2427

At this stage I had actually left the official demonstration. Notice the difference?

img_2428

This gave me great joy. Departing protesters showed their disrespect for our pretend President by depositing their protest litter in front of the sign advertising his architectural phallus substitute

img_2429

When I turned the corner I learned to my great happiness, that there was easy access to the main demonstration from the Columbus Circle side. (Which no one back at the main march knew — we were all instructed to enter at W. 68th). At any rate, I zipped over for a few minutes to see what I could see, and yell at a Trump building for a few minutes.

img_2432

img_2436

img_2437

These were the only bona fide anarchists I saw the whole time. Most of the folks I saw at the rally looked like families, senior citizens, students, young couples, and the like. At any rate, I imagine this sign far exceeds the radicalism of 99% of the people there. Presidents can be plenty infuriating, but most of us are quite fond of our Constitutional system. In fact, one of our major problems with the present President is the contempt he shows for that system.

Look! The protest followed me home!

Look! The protest followed me home!

Leave a Reply

