Man Breaks Rib; People Read About it 120 Years Later

This picture has nothing to do with anything; I just got tired of trying to find a more suitable image.

This picture has nothing to do with anything; I just got tired of trying to find a more suitable image.

1896 news item from the Worcester Daily Spy about my first cousin, 4x removed:

Levi Heredeen, the blacksmith of North Oxford, while driving in the road between the new creamery and North Oxford station, met with a severe accident. His horse put his foot through a hole in the bridge over the brook, and falling, threw Mr. Heredeen from the wagon. The horse, in struggling to get out, stepped upon Levi, broke one rib, and otherwise injured him.”

I just thought this was too cool not to share. It’s so real (look, the real press clipping is below) and so close, geographically and in time (I deal in history, I don’t think of 1896 as a long time ago..my grandfather, whom I have memories of, was born two years later). And yet…these words pop: Blacksmith?!  …Creamery?! …Horse?! ….Wagon?!…and, obviously a bridge made of wood, which develops a hole that a horse can have an accident on. I picture a covered bridge, although that aspect isn’t mentioned. Just a little slice of life, with a skein of detail.

d2a3086c-703f-4e0a-9fa0-06bd8d8caf11

Leave a Reply

