Our New Improved Appreciation of Steuben Day


Saturday, September 19 at noon is the next edition of the German-American Steuben Day parade here in New York. I’ve blogged about this parade in the past (you can read one of those posts here), and have also lectured and written many times about the influence of German Americans on American popular culture. What I did not know until recently, is that I share some of that heritage myself! Hence…perhaps my interest in that culture was instinctively propelled?

Of course I had known that the ancestors of the English, the Angles, Saxons and Jutes were all German tribes and so I know about that ancestry. But I did not realize until recent weeks that I had some modern German ancestry, just a little the Pennsylvania Dutch Quaker Larrance Cypert (1690-1785) in this post here. He immigrated to America from Hanover, Germany. And his descendants made their way to North Carolina and then Tennessee. Them’s my Germans! It’s way less than my Frenches, but you can tell that just by looking at me.


Addendum: Here’s a very nice piece about the Germans in America by Erik Kirschbaum from the November 23, 2015 NY Timeshttp://www.nytimes.com/2015/09/23/opinion/whatever-happened-to-german-america.html?smid=fb-share&_r=0

Leave a Reply

