Forgotten Shows of My Nonage #34: Angie

url

Today is the birthday of Donna Pescow (b. 1954). She was always more cute and loveable than she was funny, although John Travolta did get a few cruel laughs at her expense in Saturday Night Fever. From there she went on to her own sit-com on ABC that lasted two whole seasons (1979 and 1980). (I’m not being snide. As you’ll see, most the shows I post in this series lasted only a season or less, hence “Forgotten”). Angie cast her as a working class girl whose love interest was an upper class WASP played by goofy, good-looking Robert Hays (which is how I first knew him, as opposed to Airplane which came out just as Angie was winding down).

The network tried hard to make a hit of the show. Not sure why it didn’t last longer. It got a lot of press and promotion; it was very visible. I just played the theme song and it hit me like a bolt, so I must have watched it many a time, though I can’t remember much about the actual show. But that’s a damn good theme song. Voila –

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,125 other followers

