Stars of the AVT #15: Dirty Martini

This post is one of a series profiling the hundreds of performers I’ve presented through my American Vaudeville Theatre in celebration of its 15th anniversary. Don’t miss the American Vaudeville Theatre’s 15th Anniversary ExTRAVaganza in the New York International Fringe Festival this August!

I first beheld the vision that is burlesque sensation Dirty Martini back in ’98 or ’99 when she was in Tex and Trixie’s All Girl Revue at the Wow Cafe. Seeing her for the first time is intrinsically memorable; I bet everybody remembers their “first time”. I’ve written about her a couple of times on this site before, here and here. My credentials as a fan are therefore well established…although I have only had the honor of presenting her the once, as part of my American Burlesque series at Surf Reality in 2001. She’s an international jet setter, model and movie star now. Naming herself after a cocktail has worked so well for her, from now I think I am going to call myself “Harvey Wallbanger”.

And here’s an exciting news bulletin Dirty just starred in the film Tournee with Julie Atlas Muz.  Based on a 1912 Collette novel,  it  won the critics prize at the 2010 Cannes Film Festival!

To learn more about vaudeville past and presentconsult No Applause, Just Throw Money: The Book That Made Vaudeville Famous, available at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and wherever nutty books are sold.

safe_image

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,463 other followers

